Southwell School – Illustration © Eamon Sinnott
The Southwell Buildings, English Street, Downpatrick, (originally known as the Almshouses and Blue Schools), were built by the Edward Southwell in 1733 to a design by the Dublin architect Sir Edward Lovett Pearce who also designed the Parliament Buildings in College Green.
Former Almshouse and School
The almshouses form the long centre portion of the building, the schools and master’s and mistress’s residences being at either end. The stunning facade features rosy brickwork, mellow and mossy with age, and the creamy stone which enhances it.